What To Wear: New Faculty Get-together Edition

The question on deck: what is the right thing to wear to a small dinner party for new faculty members at the provost’s house? The invitation says casual and, in fact, mentions shorts. I have a firm no-shorts-ever policy. But, it is hot as hades out there. I’m thinking a sundress, which may expose me as a hippie way before I had intended. Still, it’s either black dress pants and top, yoga pants and tank, or a sundress. The only three categories of clothes I really own. So, sundress it is.

I can’t help but wonder if the new male faculty members attending this dinner are obsessing over their wardrobes in their heads or on their blogs right now. Probably not.

Leave a Reply

